NIGGER

This poem is going to be updated. It was a slam piece I wrote years ago, and I’m tired of it the way it is. So, before I move stuff around, I want to document what was before I come out with the remix…

Btw, it’s one of my favorite poems to recite during Black History Month. Especially around uppity Black folks who act like they are so repulsed by the N-word. You can’t take away the sting when you’re still acting like you’re afraid of it.

And here, we go.

I AM

the atomic bomb of all insults

my name symbolizes intense hate and immense pride

i can cast an entire generation of men into hell

their memory keeps me alive

and no, you don’t have to speak to me

or even say my name, cause baby–

i can read your mind

no one has seen more people take their last breath

or caused more living men to withhold it

my stare signifies a history of

stolen lies

stolen wives

stolen cries

made proud men hang their heads in shame

made some wallow in it

some rise from my ashes

and revel in it

others religiously invoke my name

most of them too stupid to use anything else

i am studied like a college major

or left to collect dust on some forgotten shelf

from the biggest and strongest men

to the richest and most powerful

i can’t be touched, while

i’ll allow 12-year old ghetto boys

to call on me all day long

those who created me now fear me

like an eternal wrong

some try to avoid me

others embrace what i stand for

some wish they could strangle me

captured like the enemy’s flag

or cure me like an infected sore

a prisoner of war

a volatile situation

an explosive core

a powerful weapon

a beautiful song

a death sentence

a nuclear bomb

i am an identity

i am a religion

i am a history

i am a mission

i am a people

i am a sword

i am immaculate

i am a whore

from the most educated of men

to the drunk in the gutter

i am a nation left in the water

i am the devil

some call me “god”

cast out from Eden into Nod

an indication of guilt

a reason to kill

a convenient scapegoat

an excuse for “free will”

can’t translate me, cause i have no equal

i am as ambiguous as the words “bad” and “sick”

the embodiment of evil

i am timeless, formless, and profoundly patriotic

i am a window into a people

i can be your mother or your father

one drop

keep me, i am yours

allow the absence of color to get near me

and even your president will know his place

the greatest leaders on earth

wouldn’t dare touch my face

deny them my use

you will forever own the fire i wield

cause you hold the fuse

while they created me

you liberated me

found like the lost treasure

the measure of acceptance some men

will never obtain

it’s internationally known

NOT to call my name

i am a sign

that the greatest nation on earth

created the most disgusting

reviled

filthiest

nastiest

and most unacceptable word ever heard

nothing can describe me

or the damage i’ve caused

i be the original Holocaust

can’t erase my past

or clean me up

or whitewash my sons

if the mouth was a gun

then i be the trigger

i am the first American institution

the father of all mankind

the original civilization

but then they named me

NIGGER

“Nigger”

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “NIGGER

  1. I would not change this…this peom captures the N word “cant translate me cause I have no equal”

Leave a Reply

