A Crown for Invisible Children, part III

5.

Like closed ears, closed eyes, closed mouths, closed minds

 

closed ears, closed eyes, closed mouths, closed minds

has my savior yet come?

i prayed to God; He sent no signs

so please take my hand so we can run

to a far away place, open and wide

no secrets for me to keep inside

where people pry, inquire and ask

is a tortured child too great a task?

speak not, see not, hear not, be not

but we exist.

they chose to close us off

even Sunday school and my own teachers

avoided my glance and defer to preachers

who have taught me that the world is blind

whose lessons cut me with “Vengeance is mine”

 

6.

Lessons betray me:  Vengeance is mine

 

betrayed me when they said, “vengeance is mine”

afterlife, destiny, intervention divine

legal lessons speak though turned heads

laziness and selfishness and apathy

left to God which much be said

labored as law for i am a life

lonely and waiting for his swift hand

lesions of welts help me track the time

like clockwork i suffer in silence

loud cries heard only within my deceptive smile

Lord of all heavens, save me please!

lift me into a safe haven like you did the Prophets

leave me here if you must, but please stop it

abandoned and alone, i’ll surely fall

knocked down by the force of a downhill snowball

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

